links Directory


Several months ago i discovered the Eclipse’s links directory. Today I saved again a lot of time setting up a new Eclipse installation thanks to this tip. I used Eclipse for long time before discovering this feature and that’s why i am posting about it.

Links directory allows you to tell Eclipse where to search for extensions when it starts. This directory just contains several .link files containing each one the path to an extension.

Personally I created a link directory separately from my Eclipse’s installation directory. Of course I also install my favorite plugins outside the Eclipse’installation. Each time I install a new Eclipse I just create a symbolic “link” (using ln -s , I am on a Linux workstation) in this new install pointing to my shared link directory. All my favorites plug-ins are there !!!

More Informations are available from the eclipse help Eclipse Helpand from this old article.

Leave a Reply

