Simple Configurator AND Update Configurator


In the context of an RCP application and following this previous post, I am building my app using Features including the org.eclipse.rcp one. I recently decided to add the error log view to my product in order to inform users of what was wrong and to respect the following recommendation: “Don’t ignore that Error !!!“.

To do that I just added the error log view in my perspective and added a dependency on the org.eclipse.ui.views.log plugin in one of my plugin to have it included at build time. All is working fine but ….

When I first launch a freshly installed application I get several errors (but the tool behaves properly according to my test suites) such as:

“Could not install bundle plugins/org.eclipse.ui_3.5.2.M20100120-0800.jar   Bundle “org.eclipse.ui” version “3.5.2.M20100120-0800″ has already been installed from: reference:file:plugins/org.eclipse.ui_3.5.2.M20100120-0800.jar”

After long investigations and deep debugging of Eclipse, I concluded that both  org.eclipse.update.configurator and org.eclipse.equinox.simpleconfigurator where installed in my product. As a consequence they are both trying to install plugins, and for some plugins (I don’t know exactly when yet) they install the same plugins. Removing manually the Update Configurator plugin (it seems to be the old way to install bundles in Eclipse) from my product solves the issue. Unfortunately this plugin is included with the simple configurator plugin in the RCP feature on which I depend.

So for now I removed the dependency on RCP feature and “manually” manage the plugins required by my product. I am not satisfy on this solution and would be interested to get community thoughs on this topic. Any pointers on the subject are welcome.

Manu

 

6 thoughts on “Simple Configurator AND Update Configurator

  1. Add the following to your config.ini
    org.eclipse.update.reconcile=false
    That turns off Update Configurator’s desire to install bundles but still allows it to cohabitate.

    Note that this is how the Eclipse IDE runs normally. Look at the top of your Eclipse IDE’ config.ini.

  2. Thanks! I’ve been looking for this for awhile!

    I have an RCP app and a myApp.product file to configure it. The product has a section for defining the configuration file and it is either “generate a default config.ini” or “use an existing config.ini”.

    I realize I could modify the one already generated and then use it but I’m worried that in the future if config.ini changed then I wouldn’t auto-update since I’ve explicitly defined a config.ini.

    Is there a good way to generate a default config.ini but add a line as described above?

    • PDE Build automatically adds org.eclipse.update.reconcile=false to the config.ini, if the org.eclipse.update.configurator is given a start level (e.g. default) in the product file. Specifically for the this property it’s a good workaround to avoid creation of a custom config.ini.

      • Vladi – thanks for the tip. I couldn’t get the product definition’s “specify configuration properties that will be added to generated config.ini files” feature to work in my headless PDE build, but your suggestion of adding org.eclipse.update.configurator did the trick for the org.eclipse.update.reconcile=false property.

Leave a Reply

